The Powerful Lure of Procrastination, Aided by Huskies

For somebody who claims to love writing, and who claims to be “always thinking about how the next story is panning out”, I sure do like to spend as much time as I can get away with trying not to write. What is it about junk TV shows, constant updating and refreshing of social networking websites and even trawling of news websites that seems so compelling in comparison to what I love to do best?

It’s a mystery to me – a bigger mystery still is how many hours I’ve lost to mindless wanderings, aimless ramblings and other absent-minded periods of simply staring off into space, blissfully free from even the most basic thought.

I daresay I’ve lost enough hours to procrastination to see my 2 beloved huskies grow from pups to maturity:

husky 1

Will you join me? D’awwwww!

I was able to get away with a lot more procrastination when they were younger, even if more of my time was spent looking after them from their infancy. These days, however…

husky 2

Say hello to Blazer and Finn! Their stern looks are what I usually get nowadays when I slack off.

But those two buggers aren’t entirely blameless either, even when they’re not around – sometimes, when I find myself really procrastinating and slacking off badly, I’ll flip the Internet switch on my laptop (I assume every laptop has this magical Internet-denying switch, forgive me if  not!) and go without the Internet for a while.

And then what happens?

I go into my ‘Puppies!’ folder and look at the hundreds of pictures I have of those two guys. I just can’t win, can I?

How do you guys procrastinate? And do you have any tips on how to instil me with more discipline, bearing in mind that I don’t even have the self-discipline to use Pomodoro or any similar techniques? Because I think I’m desperate by now!

Take it handy,

– V xxx

Leave a Reply

